Adding a user

You may need to give someone else access to your WordPress site, whether you’re sharing access with our team for troubleshooting, a developer for customization, or a site contributor for writing blog posts. Thankfully, you don’t have to share your personal login to give others access to your site. Instead, we recommend creating a new user for your site.This allows the user to have their own personal login, and it also means that you can revoke access at any time simply by deleting the user, rather than having to change your personal password.

Here’s how to do it:


1. In the WordPress dashboard, go to Users > Add New.

2. Fill out the information for your new user. Note that a username and email are required. Choose what you wish for the username; we generally recommend that you do not use the name “admin,” for security purposes. 

3. Select the role for your new user, according to the level of access needed. We describe the user levels below! If the <em>press team is helping you troubleshoot, please select Administrator.

4. Click the blue button to add your new user! If you left the user notification option checked, WordPress will automatically email your new user on your behalf and provide them with a link to reset their password.

5. We recommend deleting users who no longer need access. To do so, go to Users, hover over their username, and click the delete link. You can assign any of their old information to your username to preserve it.


USER LEVELS:

Administrator: This user can access anything in your dashboard. Assign this level to <em>press if we ask you for a login for troubleshooting. This is also the level you would assign to a designer and/or developer you work with on your site.

Editor: This user can do anything regarding blog posts, but cannot access features related to plugins and theme customization. Assign this level to anyone who helps you manage the editing and publishing of your blog posts.

Author: This user can only publish and manage their own posts. Assign this level to a site contributor if you feel comfortable allowing them to publish their posts when complete.

Contributor: This user can only manage their own posts and may not publish. Assign this level to a site contributor if you would like to review their posts before publishing.

Subscriber: This user can only manage their own profile. It’s unlikely you would need to assign this level to anyone, as it’s used mainly for ecommerce.